Rocky Mountain Hall of Fame

Induction into Western Energy Alliance's Rocky Mountain Hall of Fame is one of the top honors for leaders in western oil and natural gas, associated service and midstream companies, and organizations supporting the industry within the banking, legal, regulatory and education sectors.

Created in 2004, the Hall of Fame recognizes leaders who have made significant contributions to the development of oil and natural gas in the West over the past 35 years as well as the communities where their companies operate.

Rocky Mountain Hall of Fame Inductees

Hall of Fame 2014 ProgramThe 2014 inductees into the Rocky Mountain Hall of Fame deserve the recognition for their vision, planning, execution, leadership and risk-taking. The history of this industry is full of incredible stories of determination and grit. Surviving the ups and downs takes a special kind of leader. Adapting to the amazing technological developments requires unrelenting focus. 

The 2014 Rocky Moutain Hall of Fame inductees include:

  • Bruce Benson, Benson Mineral Group
  • Jim Brown, Halliburton
  • Ted Brown, Noble Energy
  • Robert J. Clark, 3 Bear Energy
  • Al Golden
  • Harold Hamm, Continental Resources
  • Curtis Hill, Exeter Drilling
  • Michael Johnson
  • David Miller, EnCap Investments
  • Bill Odell, Poulson Odell & Peterson
  • Ray Plank, Apache
  • Paul Rady, Antero Resources
  • Dave Schaenen, DLD Enterprises
  • Charles Searle, Guaranty Bank
  • Bill Smith, COGCC
  • Margot Timbel, Anschutz Exploration
  • James Volker, Whiting Petroleum Corp.
  • Barth Whitham, Enduring Resources
  • Paul Zecchi, Central Resources
  • Robert Zorich, EnCap Investments

Additional details profiling the successful careers of these industry legends are featured in the Hall of Fame commemorative event program

2009 Inductees

The 2009 Rocky Moutain Hall of Fame inductees include:

Donald Anderson
Anthony Andrikopoulos
Robert Boswell
Zack Brinkerhoff, Jr.
Merle Chambers
Thomas Congdon
Alexis (Alex) Cranberg
Kenneth Danneberg
Peter Dea
Pietro Vichi Domenici
Clayton Glenville Dorn II
Donald Evans
John Fox
Albert Greer
Mark Hellerstein
Joseph Jaggers
Fred Julander
J.B. (Bert) Ladd
James Lightner
John Moore
James Nielson
E.A. (Tip) Polumbus
A. Ralph Reed
James Schroeder
Alan Simpson
A.B. (Pete) Slaybaugh
J.R. (Digger) Smith
George Solich
Donald Spence
Neal Stanley
L. Paul Teague
J.C. (Jay) Thompson
David True
Diemer True
H.A. (Hank) True
Jack Vickers, Jr.
Marvin Wolf
George Yates
John Yates
Peyton Yates

2004 Inductees

The 2004 Rocky Moutain Hall of Fame inductees include:

Edward Ackman
George Anderman
Phillip Anschutz
Jerry Armstrong
William Ballard
Joseph Bander
William Barrett
Robert Bayless
Wayne (Dusty) Biddle
Ray Brownlie
Jerry Chambers
Collis Chandler, Jr.
Raymond Chorney
Richard Cullen
Marvin Davis
Cortland Dietler
Thomas Dugan
Raymond Duncan
George Fancher, Jr.
Samuel Gary
Maury Goodin
William Goodin
Doyle Grogan
Frederic Hamilton
Donald Hart
Thomas Jordan
Jerome Lewis
Richard Lewis
Kenneth Luff
John Martin
Frederick Mayer
Neil (Mick) McMurray
F.H. (Mick) Merelli
J. Gregory Merrion
Paul Messinger
Rex Monahan
W.A. (Tex) Moncrief, Jr.
Robert Nance
J. Larry Nichols
Marvin Owens, Jr.
Thomas Petrie
Conley Smith
John Snyder
Vernon (Moose) Taylor, Jr.
Kye Trout, Jr.
H.A. (Dave) True
Harry Trueblood, Jr.
James Banderbeek
Thomas Vessels
James Wallace
Robert Weimer
Kenneth Whiting
Donald Wolf
Harvey E. Yates